Common DWI Offenses in Bryan-College Station
Section 49.09 of the penal code defines DWI. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. Texas considers you intoxicated, or drunk, if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.08 percent.
The reason many people hire a DUI Bryan-College Station attorney is to fight a DWI offense. However, there are other types of common alcohol-related offenses you can be charged with if you allegedly operated a motor vehicle while intoxicated such as:
- DWI with a child passenger
- Felony DUI or DWI
- Intoxication Assault
- Boating while intoxicated (BWI)
- Intoxication Manslaughter
Whether this is your first alcohol-related defense or a repeat offense, you need an experienced DUI Bryan-College Station attorney to represent you. You have to immediately fight to protect your license. Some alcohol-related charges may result in you losing your driver’s license. However, the state may immediately take your driving privileges before your case goes to trial.
Protecting Driving Privileges after a DWI Arrest
After a person is arrested for DWI or any alcohol-related driving charge in Texas, the state may start administrative proceedings to take your license. This means that you won’t be allowed to drive, regardless of whether your criminal case is quickly resolved in your favor or not.
A state hearing is not based on innocent until proven guilty. Instead, it is interested in suspending your licenses regardless of your guilt or innocence. You must seek an administrative hearing to convince the state to let you keep driving while your case is pending. A DWI Bryan-College Station attorney will fight to keep your driving privileges during a driver’s license hearing.
Penalties for DWI in Bryan-College Station
If you were stopped for DWI, you had to show your driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. You probably underwent a breath or blood test. If you refused the blood or breath test, your license is suspended for at least 180 days. If you took the breath or blood test and was chargedwith DUI, your punishment varies according to the number of prior DWI convictions:
- First Offense: Three to 180 days in county jail. Suspended driver’s license for up to one year. A $2,000 fine.
- Second Offense: One month in county jail. A $4,000 fine. Suspended driver’s license for up to two years.
- Third Offense: Two to 10 years in prison. Suspended driver’s license for up to two years. A $10,000 fine.
Remember, these penalties for anyone convicted of DWI. You only face these charges. With the help of DUI Bryan-College Station lawyer, you can fight to avoid these penalties.
Texas spends a lot of money in highly publicized state campaigns to warn about the dangers associated with drinking and driving. This has caused law enforcement and prosecutors to become aggressive in the pursuit and prosecution of anyone suspected of an alcohol-related offense. Do not become an example the state can use. Fight your charge with the assistance of a DWI Bryan-College Station Attorney
Put Experience on Your Side with the Help of The Turnbull Law Group
Overzealous law enforcement officials and prosecutors cause a variety of problems such as wrongful arrests, mistakes and mishandled cases. This can put your rights and freedom in jeopardy. Turnbull Legal Group has experience helping numerous clients facing alcohol-related charges achieve outcomes in their favor at trial. Contact Turnbull Legal Group for help.